Your Call is Important

Video Description

Your call is important is a video message hosted by Mr. Guy Parent the current Veterans Ombudsman of Canada.   Mr. Parent describes who the Office of the Veterans Ombudsman serves and the services we provide.  The video message has various tight and wide angle shots of Mr. Parent and shows a faded waving Canadian flag in the background with various military personnel and commemorative photos.  The Veterans Ombudsman shares a real-life success story as an example of how the Office of the Veterans Ombudsman can help.  On screen toll free number provided: 1-877-330-4343.

Transcript

Introduction

Hi. I’m Guy Parent and I’m Canada’s Veterans Ombudsman.

Who we serve

At the Office of the Veterans Ombudsman, we work to ensure that Veterans, serving members of the Canadian Forces and the RCMP, and other clients of Veterans Affairs Canada, are treated respectfully, in accordance with the Veterans Bill of Rights, and receive the services and benefits that they require in a fair, timely, and efficient manner.

Our services

Information: We can help you navigate through the often-complex Veterans Affairs Canada's system by providing information about your rights and about the benefits and services provided by the Department and other organizations.

Referrals: We assist those who call for help, often as a last resort, by acting as quickly as possible to facilitate referrals to service providers that can best assist them.

Complaint resolution: We address complaints from individuals who believe they have been treated unfairly by Veterans Affairs Canada or other service providers.

Interventions to address systemic issues

When the facts of a case raise systemic issues that can potentially affect many other Veterans and clients of the Department, or when there are multiple complaints about the same issue, or when issues emerge as a result of the Office's interaction with the Department of Veterans Affairs and the Veterans community, my Office will intervene.

This was the case last year when a Veteran called the Office about his eligibility for the Exceptional Incapacity Allowance, an allowance of up to $1,348.57 a month provided to pensioners who are exceptionally incapacitated.

My Office contacted Veterans Affairs Canada to discuss the case and found that half of the 1,800 Veterans who were potentially eligible for the Allowance had not been informed.

The Department quickly corrected the situation by sending a letter to those Veterans. As a result, close to 600 Veterans were found to be eligible and received retroactive payments totaling $14 million.

Toll free number 1-877-330-4343

So, if you are having a problem, please call us.

Your call is important to us…and it can be very important to other Veterans.

We'll do our best to help you!

Votre appel est important

Description du vidéo

Votre appel est important est un message vidéo présenté par M. Guy Parent, l’ombudsman des vétérans du Canada actuel. M. Parent décrit les clients du Bureau de l’ombudsman des vétérans et les services qu’il leur fournit. Le message vidéo a différentes images à angles fermés et à grands angles de M. Parent et une image d’un drapeau canadien décoloré qui s’agite à l’arrière-plan avec différentes photos commémoratives et du personnel militaire. L’ombudsman des vétérans partage une vraie histoire de réussite comme un exemple de la manière dont le Bureau peut aider. Numéro sans frais affiché : 1-877-330-4343

Transcription

Présentation

Bonjour. Je suis Guy Parent et je suis l'ombudsman des vétérans du Canada.

Qui nous servons

Au Bureau de l'ombudsman des vétérans, nous veillons à ce que les vétérans, les membres actifs des Forces canadiennes et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, ainsi que les autres clients d'Anciens Combattants Canada soient traités avec respect, conformément à la Déclaration des droits des anciens combattants, et à ce qu'ils reçoivent les services et les avantages dont ils ont besoin de manière équitable, rapide et efficace.

Nos services

Information: Nous pouvons vous aider à naviguer à travers le système souvent complexe d’Anciens Combattants Canada en fournissant des informations sur vos droits et sur les prestations et les services fournis par le Ministère et d'autres organismes.

Aiguillage: Nous aidons ceux qui appellent à l'aide, souvent en dernier recours, en agissant aussi rapidement que possible afin de faciliter les renvois aux fournisseurs de services qui peuvent le mieux les aider.

Règlement de plaintes: Nous traitons les plaintes de particuliers qui estiment avoir été traités injustement par Anciens Combattants Canada ou d'autres fournisseurs de services.

Interventions visant des questions d'ordre systémique :

Lorsque les faits d’un cas révèlent des questions d’ordre systémique qui risquent de toucher un bon nombre de vétérans et d’autres clients du Ministère, ou lorsqu’il y a de nombreuses plaintes au sujet d’une même question ou lorsque des problèmes sont mis au jour par suite du dialogue entre le Bureau et le Ministère ainsi que la communauté des vétérans, mon Bureau va intervenir.

Ce fut le cas l'année dernière quand un vétéran a téléphoné au Bureau afin de se renseigner sur son admissibilité à l’allocation d’incapacité exceptionnelle, une allocation mensuelle pouvant atteindre 1 348,57 $ versée aux pensionnés qui souffrent d’une incapacité exceptionnelle.

Mon Bureau a communiqué avec Anciens Combattants Canada afin de discuter de ce cas et a trouvé que la moitié des 1 800 vétérans potentiellement admissibles à cette allocation n’avait jamais été informée.

Le Ministère a remédié rapidement à la situation en envoyant une lettre à tous ces vétérans. Ainsi, il a été établi que près de 600 vétérans étaient admissibles à l’allocation d’incapacité exceptionnelle. Ces vétérans ont touché des paiements rétroactifs pour un montant total de 14 millions de dollars.

Numéro sans frais 1-877-330-4343

Donc, si vous rencontrez un problème, s'il vous plaît appelez-nous.

Votre appel est important pour nous ... et il peut aussi être très important pour les autres vétérans.

Nous ferons de notre mieux pour vous aider!