Interview with Prince's Operation Entrepreneur - 2018 Commendation Recipient

 

Current position:00:00:00

Total time:00:01:21

Transcript

What motivated you to support veterans and their families?

Kathleen Kilgour: There was a need. Back in 2012 when this program was founded, there wasn’t any transitioning programs for those looking to explore entrepreneurship and self-employment.

Janet McCausland: I would add as well. We’re Prince’s Trust Canada, so the Prince of Wales is a man of many interests and this program brought together three of his interest: the military, entrepreneurship, and young people.

What is the most rewarding aspect of your work?

Kathleen Kilgour: Seeing the faces of the people after they have been through the seven day boot camp. It’s an intense week, there’s lots of ups and downs, and a lot of challenges but at the end the group has really come together as a whole and they have all moved themselves and their businesses forward.

Janet McCausland: I would add. Well, I have been self employed, my husband is an entrepreneur, Kathleen’s husband is an entrepreneur, so when people get that spark of the fact that they can be their own boss and to go and create something in their community, that’s pretty exciting.

Thank you to Prince’ s Operation Entrepreneur!

Date modified:

Entrevue avec Opération Entrepreneur du prince de Galles - Récipiendaire de la mention élogieuse de 2018

 

Position actuelle :00:00:00

Temps total :00:01:20

Transcription

Qu'est-ce qui vous a motivé à aider les vétérans er leur famille?

Kathleen Kilgour : Il y avait un besoin. En 2012, lorsque ce programme a été créé, il n’y avait aucun programme de transition pour ceux qui voulaient explorer l’entrepreneuriat et le travail autonome.

Janet McCausland : J’ajouterais ceci : nous sommes La Fondation du prince au Canada, le prince de Galles est un homme aux intérêts multiples et ce programme a réuni trois de ses centres d’intérêt : les militaires, les entrepreneurs et les jeunes.

Quel aspect de ce que vous faites est le plus gratifiant?

Kathleen Kilgour : Voir le visage des gens à la fin de la formation d’une semaine. C’est une semaine intensive, il y a beaucoup de hauts et de bas, et beaucoup de défis, mais à la fin, les membres du groupe sont vraiment solidaires et tous ont progressé, tant sur le plan personnel que pour leur entreprise.

Janet McCausland : J’ajouterais aussi que j’ai été travailleuse autonome, mon mari est un entrepreneur, le mari de Kathleen aussi, et quand les gens comprennent tout à coup qu’ils peuvent être leur propre patron et créer quelque chose dans leur communauté, c’est très excitant.

Merci, Opération Entrepreneur du prince de Galles!

Date de modification :